Most people want to get back to work as soon as possible following a work injury, but if the on-the-job accident knocks you out of work for an extended period, you may begin to wonder how long you’ll be eligible to collect workers’ compensation. Different types of injury classifications yield maximum compensation schedules of varying lengths, so how long you can collect compensation will depend on your injuries and what benefits you’re seeking. Below, we take a closer look at how long you may be able to collect different types of workers’ compensation benefits in Minnesota.
How Long Can I Receive Work Comp Checks?
Before we get into the maximum compensation schedules, it’s important to realize that workers’ compensation is designed to help you return to gainful employment, so the most common answer to the question is that you can receive compensation payments until you’ve made enough of a recovery to return to work in some capacity. If you are cleared for full or light duty, you can expect the insurance company to reduce or stop sending your compensation checks entirely. After all, once you’ve healed to the point that you can return to work, you no longer need to collect workers’ compensation.
Now, let’s shift the conversation to maximum compensation amounts based on the type of benefits you’re pursuing in the event that your injuries keep you from pursuing gainful employment for an extended period. Here’s a breakdown by benefit type:
Temporary Total Disability – Total Temporary Disability (TTD) benefits are paid to employees who are completely unable to work for a certain period of time until enough recovery has occurred. Under Minnesota law, you can collect TTD benefits for a maximum of 130 weeks.
Temporary Partial Disability – Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) benefits compensate the employee in the event they are unable to work in a normal capacity while they recover. If they are unable to work the same job or the same amount of hours because of your injuries, TPD benefits may be an option for you. You are able to collect TPD benefits for a maximum of 225 weeks in Minnesota.
Permanent Total Disability – Permanent Total Disability (PTD) benefits compensate an employee who can no longer return to gainful employment as a result of their work injuries. PTD benefits may be paid to an employee until they reach the age of 67, the presumed age of retirement in Minnesota.
Permanent Partial Disability – Permanent Partial Disability benefits are paid to an employee who has permanently lost function in a part of their body. They will still be able to work, but they are affected in a permanent capacity as a result of a previous injury (like losing two fingers or going partially deaf after a work accident). These payments are made in a lump sum based on your disability rating, so you will not collect this type of compensation like the other types of benefits on this list.
If you have questions about obtaining compensation for any of the disability benefits listed above, or if you believe that your benefits were stopped prematurely, make sure that you reach out to an experienced workers’ compensation attorney. In the greater Minneapolis area, connect with Dean Margolis and the team at Margolis Law Office today at (952) 230-2700.
- Four Tactics Insurance Adjusters Use During Personal Injury Cases - January 25, 2023
- How Is Wage Loss Calculated If You’re Self-Employed? - January 18, 2023
- Five Mistakes That Can Tank Your Minnesota Personal Injury Case - January 11, 2023